Simply more festivals.

Overview of all festivals 2022/2023

We’re excited to introduce you to the festival year 2022/2023 in Baden-Baden with a special emphasis on the term festival. If, as some sources report, it was really Hector Berlioz who first used the term “festival” in 1830, we in Baden-Baden have a special duty to bring the festival back to the center of our work. The French composer took the festival idea to the cultural haven of Baden-Baden, which for some time was simply known among French summer guests as the “7th Arrondissement ”– the artists' quarter, the “place to be” in old Paris. We are confident that the future belongs to the festival. Encounters over a period of several days together with explorations and reflections in the echo chamber of the festival venue lead to lasting nourishment for the soul.

3.2. - 5.2.23

Takeover Festival

The Grandbrothers will kick off the Takeover Festival 2023. With classical piano and electronics, the duo recently transformed Cologne Cathedral into a cathedral of sound – now it will be building musical dreamscapes in the Festspielhaus. Because at Takeover, it is all about dreaming, inventing, dancing, and above all trying things out. For the future. For the spirit of togetherness. For music. With stunning acts and exciting workshops in a stylish atmosphere. BMX and a string quartet? Why not? Give it a try at Takeover!

To the Festival

1.4. - 10.4.2023

Easter Festival Baden-Baden

Berliner Philharmoniker

It was to be a grand fairy tale, and the "last Romantic opera": Richard Strauss and the poet Hugo von Hofmannsthal dreamed up a monumental, dazzling musical drama for fin de siècle Vienna – Die Frau ohne Schatten. Kirill Petrenko, who will be conducting the cult opera in a new production, sees it as the Magic Flute of the 20th century. No wonder he chose this work to celebrate ten years of the Easter Festival with the Berliner Philharmoniker in Baden-Baden.

To the Festival

27.5. - 4.6.2023

Whitsun Festival Baden-Baden

SWR Symphonieorchester

How does immortality sound?

It simply can’t be: Isolde isn’t dead. She passes over – into another world, into another state, into something that entices us, that we have been longing for all along. Teodor Currentzis will be giving us an intimation of this when he conducts Isoldes Liebestod at the Whitsun Festival, from Wagner's ecstatic, uninhibited music drama Tristan und Isolde. We will then be hearing sweet transfiguration without eroticism in the Third Act of Parsifal, sung by Bayreuth star Andreas Schager. Also to die for – and also by Wagner, who will be the focus of this Whitsun Festival.

To the Festival

30.6. - 9.7.2023

La Capitale d' Été

Summer Festival Baden-Baden

The Big Apple in Baden-Baden: The New York Metropolitan Opera brings glamor to the Black Forest. With its orchestra, with principal conductor Yannick Nézet-Séguin and two of its goddesses: Renée Fleming and Joyce DiDonato. The program will pay tribute to the festival and world heritage city. Arias from Hector Berlioz’s Les Troyens will feature in the "25 Years of the Festspielhaus Baden-Baden" Gala Concert. It was Berlioz who invented the festival idea in Baden-Baden in the mid-nineteenth century. At that time, the city was known as the "summer capital of Europe." With this Festival, the tradition is being carried forward: Baden-Baden is “La Capitale d'Été.”

To the Festival

29.9. - 10.10.2023

The World of John Neumeier

The premiere of The World of John Neumeier dance festival in autumn 2022 was met by audiences with enthusiastic acclaim. With The Sleeping Beauty, a favorite of his repertoire, John Neumeier will be building on this success in 2023. In his version of the fairy-tale ballet after Tchaikovsky and Petipa, the prince, a man of our time, meets Sleeping Beauty – a dream princess from the era of classical ballet. The question is, will it be a good awakening? Dona Nobis Pacem, John Neumeier's latest choreography, is a prayer for peace in the language of dance. Because in The World of John Neumeier, there is room for the hope shared by all art lovers: that dreams can move mountains.

To the Festival

18.11. - 26.11.2023

La Grande Gare

Autumn Festival Baden-Baden

A quick read in a pub in Wetzlar – and Jules Massenet was on fire. What followed was the ingenious transformation of Goethe's Werther into a Romantic opera. Massenet frees himself from the original: his Werther might just as well be called Charlotte – a moving psychological drama that the French composer weaves around the young woman who, with Werther, is swept away in a stormy love affair. In Robert Carsen's new production, Jonathan Tetelman and Kate Lindsey sing the leading roles. With the opera, Thomas Hengelbrock opens the “La Grande Gare” Autumn Festival, which will be dedicated to the cultural ties between Germany and France.

To the Festival

10.12. - 17.12.2023

Winter Festival

Baden-Baden

The time when wishes can come true returns again every year: at Advent, when people in Baden-Baden stroll through the Christkindlsmarkt and think about how they can make their loved ones happy. Our proposal: Cinderella with the Bayerische Staatsballett, choreographed by Christopher Wheeldon. The Briton knows how to entertain: his art is at home not only in the ballet theater, but also on Broadway. His majestic version of the fairy-tale ballet to music by Sergei Prokofiev enchants us with its stunning stage magic.

To the Festival

Einfach mehr Festival.

Übersicht über alle Festivals 2022/2023

Hier möchten wir Ihnen das Festivaljahr 2022/2023 in Baden-Baden vorstellen und betonen den Begriff Festival dabei ganz besonders. Wenn es – wie einige Quellen berichten – wirklich Hector Berlioz war, der den Begriff „Festival“ 1830 erstmals verwendete, sind wir in Baden-Baden besonders verpflichtet, das Festival und das Festspiel wieder in den Mittelpunkt unserer Arbeit zu stellen. Der französische Komponist brachte die Festivalidee schließlich mit nach Baden-Baden, an den Sehnsuchtsort, den man eine gute Weile unter den französischen Sommergästen auch einfach das „7. Arrondissement“ nannte – also das Viertel der Künstlerinnen und Künstler, den „place to be“ im alten Paris. Wir sind sicher, dass dem Festival die Zukunft gehört. In der Begegnung über mehr als einen Abend, in der Vertiefung und in der Reflexion im Echoraum des Festspielortes entsteht nachhaltige Seelennahrung.

3.2. - 5.2.23

Takeover Festival

Die Grandbrothers bringen das Takeover Festival 2023 an den Start. Mit klassischem Konzertflügel und Elektronik hat das Duo vor kurzem den Kölner Dom in eine Kathedrale des Sounds verwandelt – nun baut es musikalische Luftschlösser im Festspielhaus. Denn bei Takeover darf geträumt, gesponnen, getanzt und vor allem: probiert werden. Für die Zukunft. Für das Miteinander. Für die Musik. Mit tollen Acts und spannenden Workshops in stylischer Atmosphäre. BMX und Streichquartett? Warum nicht: Probiert es aus bei Takeover!

Zum Festival

1.4. - 10.4.2023

Osterfestspiele Baden-Baden

Berliner Philharmoniker

Ein großes Märchen sollte es werden und die „letzte romantische Oper“: Für das Wien des Fin de Siècle erträumten sich Richard Strauss und der Dichter Hugo von Hofmannsthal ein monumentales, schillerndes Musikdrama – „Die Frau ohne Schatten“. Kirill Petrenko, der die Kultoper in einer Neuinszenierung dirigieren wird, erkennt darin die „Zauberflöte“ des 20. Jahrhunderts. Kein Wunder, dass er genau dieses Werk ausgesucht hat, um zehn Jahre Osterfestspiele der Berliner Philharmoniker in Baden-Baden mit Ihnen und uns zu feiern.

Zum Festival

27.5. - 4.6.2023

Pfingstfestspiele Baden-Baden

SWR Symphonieorchester

Wie klingt Unsterblichkeit?

Es kann nicht sein: Isolde ist nicht tot. Sie geht dahin – in eine andere Welt, in einen anderen Zustand, in irgendetwas, das uns anlockt, nach dem wir uns die ganze Zeit gesehnt haben. Teodor Currentzis vermittelt eine Ahnung davon, wenn er bei den Pfingstfestspielen „Isoldes Liebestod“ dirigiert, aus Wagners rauschhaftem, tabulosem Musikdrama „Tristan und Isolde“. Süße Verklärung ohne Erotik gibt es dann im dritten Aufzug von „Parsifal“, gesungen von Bayreuth-Star Andreas Schager. Auch zum Sterben schön – und auch von Wagner, der im Zentrum dieser Pfingstfestspiele steht.

Zum Festival

30.6. - 9.7.2023

La Capitale d' Été

Sommerfestspiele Baden-Baden

Big Apple in Baden-Baden: Die Metropolitan Opera New York bringt Glanz an die Oos. Mit ihrem Orchester, mit Chefdirigent Yannick Nézet-Séguin und zwei ihrer Göttinnen: Renée Fleming und Joyce DiDonato. Das Programm ist eine Hommage an die Festspiel- und Welterbestadt. Im Galakonzert „25 Jahre Festspielhaus Baden-Baden“ erklingen Arien aus den „Trojanern“ von Hector Berlioz. Er war es, der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts die Festspielidee für Baden-Baden erfand. Damals sprach man von der „Sommerhauptstadt Europas“. Mit diesen Festspielen bleibt es dabei: Baden-Baden ist „La Capitale d’Été“.

Zum Festival

29.9. - 10.10.2023

The World of John Neumeier

Tanzfestival Baden-Baden

Die Premiere des Tanzfestivals „The World of John Neumeier“ im Herbst 2022 war ein Publikumsmagnet. Mit „Dornröschen“, einem Lieblingsstück seines Repertoires, knüpft John Neumeier 2023 daran an. In seiner Version des Märchenballetts nach Tschaikowsky und Petipa trifft der Prinz, ein Mensch unserer Zeit, auf Dornröschen – eine Traumprinzessin aus der Ära des klassischen Balletts. Bleibt die Frage: Gibt es ein gutes Erwachen? „Dona Nobis Pacem“, John Neumeiers neueste Choreographie, ist ein Friedensgebet in der Sprache des Tanzes. Denn in „The World of John Neumeier“ ist Platz für die Hoffnung, die alle Kunstliebhaber teilen: Träume können Welten bewegen.

Zum Festival

18.11. - 26.11.2023

La Grande Gare

Herbstfestspiele Baden-Baden

Eine rasche Lektüre im Wetzlarer Bierlokal – und Jules Massenet war Feuer und Flamme. Was folgte, ist die geniale Verwandlung von Goethes „Werther“ in eine romantische Oper. Massenet befreit sich von der Vorlage: Sein „Werther“ könnte genauso gut „Charlotte“ heißen – so ergreifend ist das Seelendrama, das der Franzose um die junge Frau entwirft, die Werther im Liebessturm mit sich reißt. In Robert Carsens Neuinszenierung singen Jonathan Tetelman und Kate Lindsey die Hauptrollen. Thomas Hengelbrock eröffnet mit der Oper die Herbstfestspiele „La Grande Gare“, die der kulturellen Liaison zwischen Deutschland und Frankreich gewidmet sind.

Zum Festival

10.12. - 17.12.2023

Winterfestspiele

Baden-Baden

Die Zeit, in der das Wünschen noch geholfen hat, bricht jedes Jahr aufs Neue an: im Advent, wenn in Baden-Baden die Menschen über den Christkindelsmarkt schlendern und darüber nachdenken, wie sie ihren Lieben eine Freude machen können. Unser Vorschlag: „Cinderella“ mit dem Bayerischen Staatsballett in der Choreographie von Christopher Wheeldon. Der Brite weiß, wie man unterhält: Er ist mit seiner Kunst nicht nur im Ballett-Theater, sondern auch am Broadway zuhause. Seine Version des Märchenballetts zu Musik von Sergej Prokofjew ist ein großer, phantastischer Bühnenzauber.

Zum Festival