3.2. - 5.2.23

Takeover

The young festival Baden-Baden

PASSING ON THE TORCH – PREPARING THE FUTURE

Passing on the torch of art – this certainly has a good ring to it. And in our case, it is even true: at some point, what we cultivate and permit to grow will be taken over by young people. We’re offering a glimpse of the future today by handing over the Festspielhaus to young people – at the Takeover Festival, which we will now be presenting for the second time. The new generation will take over the building, technology, and stage. In view of the challenges of our time, we are motivated to create a new and better cooperation: piano meets technology, BMX bike meets string quartet, dance meets light projection. Jazz duos share the space, and classical star violinist Daniel Hope plays with the Zürcher Kammerorchester and a jazz trio. The performers will be reaching out both to one another and to the audience, in the form of workshops with the artists which will be taking place at each event. Everyone can participate, all you need to do is register.

FR 3.2.23

GRANDBROTHERS

The two musicians of Grandbrothers truly make something new out of a piano and a computer, together with a self-built apparatus that has been fine-tuned over the years and that controls the instrument’s hammers. The result sounds so fantastic that the duo merited an entire page in the Frankfurter Allgemeine. It was a rave review.

TO THE EVENT

SA 4.2.23/SU 5.2.23

HAKANAI

A dancer interprets a "digital score," which is not generated by a person but by the software eMotion. In this way, the dancer enters into dialogue with an ever-changing graphic universe. The sound design is also created in real time, giving rise to a synesthetic world of sound, image, and dance.

TO THE EVENT

SA 4.2.23

THE ART OF THE DUO

Nils Wülker & Arne Jansen; Julia Hülsmann & Christopher Dell

How do things work in a couple? In music as in love: with communication, which can be harmonious, conflictual, or constructive. "The Art of the Duo," the title of a new series at the JazzNights in early 2023, proves this emphatically – with two top-class duo members in one evening.

TO THE EVENT

SA 4.2.23

TAKEOVER-PARTY

What otherwise tend to avoid each other are now coming together: drums, live electronics, a string quartet, and a BMX bike. The latter will be ridden and flown by six-time world champion Jorge "Viki" Gómez. Gómez has turned BMX acrobatics into an art and collaborates with artists and musicians, making him a perfect fit for the Festspielhaus.

TO THE EVENT

SU 5.2.23

DANIEL HOPE

Hope's concert concludes the Takeover Festival on a festive note, with a musical invitation to people of different generations with different musical upbringings who now have the opportunity to celebrate together. Even the composers featured on the program went beyond boundaries, as their melodies became immortal by combining the best of jazz and classical music.

TO THE EVENT

Takeover 2022

A big thank you to our partners of the 2023 Festival

3.2. - 5.2.23

Takeover

Das junge Festival Baden-Baden

SCHLÜSSEL ÜBERGEBEN - ZUKUNFT GEWINNEN

Die Fackeln der Kunst weitertragen – das klingt schon einmal gut. In unserem Fall stimmt es sogar: Irgendwann wird das, was wir pflegen und zum Wachsen bringen, die Jugend übernehmen. Da greifen wir vor und übergeben jungen Menschen das Festspielhaus bereits heute – beim Takeover Festival, das nun zum zweiten Mal stattfinden wird. Heranwachsende schnappen sich Haus, Technik und Bühne. Die Verwerfungen der Zeit im Blick, gestaltet man ein neues, besseres Miteinander: Klavier trifft auf Technik, BMX-Rad auf Streichquartett, Tanz auf Lichtprojektion. Jazz-Duos teilen sich den Raum; der klassische Stargeiger Daniel Hope spielt mit dem Zürcher Kammerorchester und einem Jazz-Trio. Man reicht sich die Hand und dem Publikum gleich mit: in Form von Workshops mit den Künstlern, die zu jeder Veranstaltung stattfinden und bei denen alle nach Anmeldung mitmachen können.

FR 3.2.23

GRANDBROTHERS

Welch eine Lobeshymne: Die Kunst des deutsch-schweizerischen Duos Grandbrothers war der FAZ eine ganzseitige Rezensionsseite wert. Die beiden Musiker verbinden Klavier und Elektronik – und erschaffen dabei etwas so unerhört Neues, dass sie damit sowohl in britischen Clubs wie im deutschen Feuilleton Begeisterung entfachen.

ZUR VERANSTALTUNG

SA 4.2.23/SO 5.2.23

HAKANAI

Tanz trifft auf „Star Trek“. Genauer gesagt, auf das „Holodeck“. Ein Raum, in dem virtuelle Welten erzeugt werden. Heute ist es die Tanzkunst, die solche Ideen in die Realität überführt: in der spektakulären, auf moderner Projektionstechnologie basierenden Choreographie „Hakanaï“ der Kompanie Adrien M & Claire B...

ZUR VERANSTALTUNG

SA 4.2.23

THE ART OF THE DUO

Nils Wülker & Arne Jansen; Julia Hülsmann & Christopher Dell

Zwei Künstlerpaarungen an einem Abend: „The Art of the Duo“, so der Titel einer neuen Reihe im Rahmen der JazzNights Anfang 2023, präsentiert zwei hochkarätigen Duo-Besetzungen...

ZUR VERANSTALTUNG

SA 4.2.23

TAKEOVER-PARTY

Bei dieser Party kommt zusammen, was sich sonst eher aus dem Wege geht: Schlagzeug, Live-Elektronik, Streichquartett und BMX-Fahrrad. Letzteres geführt, gefahren und geflogen vom sechsfachen Weltmeister Jorge „Viki“ Gómez. Gómez hat die BMX-Akrobatik zur Kunst erhoben, arbeitet mit Künstlern und Musikern zusammen und passt deshalb hervorragend ins Festspielhaus.

ZUR VERANSTALTUNG

SO 5.2.23

DANIEL HOPE

Ein irisch-deutscher Stargeiger, ein Jazztrio um einen Gypsy-Gitarristen und ein Schweizer Kammerorchester machen zusammen Musik aus Amerika. Worum es in seinem Amerika-Programm geht? Um die USA als Schmelztiegel! Dazu um eine Mischung aus Jazz und Klassik, Amerika und Europa.

ZUR VERANSTALTUNG

WORKSHOPS 2023

Ihr wollt in Baden-Baden übernachten?

Das geht jetzt günstiger!

Einige hiesige Hotels bieten aus Anlass des Takeover-Festivals vergünstigte Zimmer an.

Aftershow Party

Wenn die Party bei uns endet, empfängt Euch die Stadt – in der Bar Bruder & Schwester/ Merkurstraße 9 und der NoName Bar/Kreuzstraße 3, den beiden offiziellen Ausrichtern der Takeover-Aftershow-Party.

Rückblick

Takeover 2022

Ein großer Dank an unsere Festivalpartner 2023