Mischa Maisky

Festspielhaus Baden-Baden

Description Program Artists

As a man of his time, Bach loved the view of the whole – after all, he lived in the era of the Encyclopedists. To them the world appeared to be logically ordered, and thus essentially comprehensible to reason. Accordingly, Bach’s Cello Suites are firstly a catalogue of dances incorporating increasingly sophisticated playing techniques. So much for the theory. In practice, here a limitless cosmos opens up before us. With this music, no performer is ever finished. Many years ago, Mischa Maisky presented his interpretation of these works in the Festspielhaus. Now he starts his journey all over again, full of curiosity and humility. No matter how famous an interpreter one is, before this music one is always a beginner.

Photo that shows Mischa Maisky Maisk Pricate Collection 2.


Johann Sebastian Bach
Suites for Solo Cello nos. 1, 4, and 5

Johann Sebastian Bach
Suites for Solo Cello nos. 3, 2, and 6

Performance ends at approx.: {{ selectedDate.end.time }} Uhr
Sponsor: {{ sponsor }}
Presented by: {{ presenter }}
In cooperation with: {{ cooperation }}
In collaboration with: {{ collaboration }}