Secure the best seats! For discounts click on the i-button next to „Book“.

33 - 150 €

Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Christiane Karg, Andris Nelsons

Audiences thirsted for premieres. And so Beethoven composed his “Ah! Perfido” aria as a young man, but the dramatic work sounded so good alongside the Fifth Symphony that the composer simply upgraded the aria’s opus number at the premiere. Andris Nelsons is now reviving this performance – at least in part. Beethoven's concert originally lasted for four hours, the length of a Wagner opera. Nelsons has shortened it and enriched it with a highly Romantic work: Schoenberg's Verklärte Nacht in the string orchestra version.


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Bella mia fiamma, addio
Concert aria, K. 528

Arnold Schönberg
Verklärte Nacht op. 4

Ludwig van Beethoven
Ah! Perfido. Concert aria, op. 65
Symphony No. 5 in C minor, op. 67

Estimated end time: 22:00


Christiane Karg Soprano
Andris Nelsons Conductor
Mahler Chamber Orchestra