Secure the best seats! For discounts click on the i-button next to „Book“.

26 - 115 €

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Vasily Petrenko, Sheku Kanneh-Mason

Today's concert is a dream come true for lovers of mellow string sounds, which we can sink into like a comfy velvet cushion. After 1900, when this kind of luxuriant sound was already considered outdated, Rachmaninoff and Elgar added an extra touch of autumn melancholy. In return, they proudly accepted to be labeled as eternally passé. Today we recognize how modern this music actually is. A late harvest of Romanticism, it influenced the newly-emerging film music. In addition, they are simply beautiful in the most old-fashioned way, like an aged red wine that calms our mind and warms our heart.


Richard Wagner
Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg, Prelude to Act III

Edward Elgar
Cello Concerto in E minor, op. 85

Sergei Rachmaninoff
Symphony No. 2 in E minor, op. 27

Estimated end time: 20:15


Sheku Kanneh-Mason Violoncello
Vasily Petrenko Conductor
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

We would like to thank

Sponsors: Karlheinz and Dagmar Kögel

Additional services

Your visit