Chamber Music X


Richard Strauss
String Sextet from the Opera Capriccio

Erwin Schulhoff
String Sextet, op. 45

Anton Bruckner
Adagio from String Quintet in F major

Estimated end time: 16:30


Philharmonisches Streichquartett
Luiz Felipe Coelho Violin
Romano Tommasini Violin
Diyang Mei Viola
Wolfgang Talirz Viola
David Riniker Cello
Gunars Upatnieks Contrabass



The Weinbrennersaal, designed by Friedrich Weinbrenner in 1824, is the oldest surviving part of the Kurhaus Baden-Baden. Eleven meters high and featuring magnificent chandeliers, the classical hall is distinguished by its special atmosphere. It originally served as a location for promenades: people would walk, chat, listen to the music, and occasionally risk a few guilders at the gambling tables next door. Today, the Weinbrennersaal is mainly used by the Philharmonie Baden-Baden.

Learn more