Berliner Philharmoniker II

Kirill Petrenko, Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 8

Three Viennese composers, two immigrants and one native-born: with music by Beethoven, Brahms, and Schoenberg, the Berliner Philharmoniker celebrates the cultural tradition of the Austrian capital – and another adopted Viennese, Joseph Haydn, will also be “calling in.” Kirill Petrenko has assembled a program that places the “conservative revolutionary” (Schoenberg on Brahms) between the avant-gardists Beethoven and Schoenberg while at the same time paying tribute to the Berliner Philharmoniker’s great Beethoven tradition. A mere inkling of this tradition is suggested by the names of such conductors as Furtwängler, Karajan, Abbado, and Rattle, and it is now impressively carried on by Petrenko.


Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No. 8 in F major

Johannes Brahms
Variations on a Theme by Joseph Haydn

Arnold Schoenberg
Variations for Orchestra