25 years of Festspielhaus Baden-Baden

Together through Music

When the Festspielhaus Baden-Baden opened its doors in 1998, no one could have guessed how important it is that people are brought together by music. During the pandemic, this became very clear. Which is why in 2023 we are celebrating not only an anniversary, but an idea, our founding spirit, and the new sense of togetherness we enjoy today. We look forward to welcoming you this year, when there are so many opportunities to celebrate!

ALL ABOUT THE FUTURE

Talks and togetherness at the Takeover Festival

Keynotes and Bluenotes: short statements on the future of music and society. Feedback is welcome at the Takeover Festival from 3 to 5.2.23!

INCREDIBLE: THE TOCCARION TURNS TEN

A very important birthday in the middle of the anniversary year: the incredible children's music world TOCCARION turns ten years old. The children's music world of the Sigmund Kiener Foundation will offer a festival program filled with singing and music from May 12 – 14, 2023.

EASTER INSPIRATION

Lectures and salons with the Berliner Philharmoniker and guests

As part of the Easter Festival, we will be joined by the Berliner Philharmoniker in making use of the city’s most beautiful rooms in order to draw inspiration from lectures and readings. In 2023 we are also celebrating the tenth anniversary of the Easter Festival. We look forward to seeing you there!

Dates: Friday, 7.4.23, 2 pm and Saturday, 8.4.23, 2 pm

MUSIC MAKES YOU YOUNG

Students make music together with megastars and promising professional newcomers in the Festspielhaus. This weekend is a true fountain of youth, featuring Anne-Sophie Mutter with Mutter's Virtuosi.

from 16. to 18.6.23

WORLD HERITAGE VIBES

A stroll through Baden-Baden: even the sound of these words alone evokes images. Such dreams will come true thanks to musicians from the SWR Symphonieorchester. For the Whitsun Festival in June 2023, we will get to experience two walking concerts at five different locations in the city center.

23.5. and 3.6.23

IN THE NEW WORLD

Gala concert for the anniversary on 1 July 2023

Come celebrate with us! Twenty-five years of the Festspielhaus, this of course calls for a celebration. You can look forward to Joyce DiDonato, THE mezzo-soprano star from America, along with New York’s Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and its chief conductor and good friend of the Festspielhaus Yannick Nézet-Séguin.

HELLO NEIGHBORS!

A celebration of togetherness

Baden-Baden and its neighbouring towns will be connecting in a new way for this festival. At the Festspielhaus, it’s about everything that brings us together: new ideas, our cultural heritage and, of course, what we like to eat. At the Old Railway Station, we’ll be celebrating a new spirit which focuses on dialogue and community. There are plenty of surprises to look forward to!

July 2023

SINGING EUROPE

Sing-along choir project

Europe speaks one common language: the language of music. We aren’t bothered by cross-border dissonances, but simply sing along happily. With people from all over Europe and the marvelous singers of the Balthasar Neumann Choir.

Closing Concert: 26.11.23

DANCING FRIENDSHIP

Supporting program for "The World of John Neumeier" dance festival

We’re going to bring verve to the spa town, which will once again become a dance metropolis. From downtown flash mob to dancing kindergarten on the hills, Baden-Baden and its guests celebrate the friendship with John Neumeier, the Hamburg Ballet, and many other dancers.

from 29.9. to 10.10.23

SPACESHIP FESTSPIELHAUS

World Premiere with Hologram-Ballet

Here the phrase "building bridges" takes on a new, expanded meaning. Since this world premiere is actually not limited to a single venue, but will take place in two locations at the same time: at the Festspielhaus Baden-Baden and at the State Opera in Prague. This is made possible by state-of-the-art hologram technology.

1.12.23

THE MAGIC OF MUSIC

A musical day for the whole family

Their concerts are titled "Hygge" or "Disco" and yet they are a completely normal classical orchestra. Although… But experience it yourself, the staircase orchestra and other musical magicians. We’re opening the doors and lowering the barriers to this Advent family day full of sounds and surprises throughout the whole Festspielhaus.

10.12.23, Free Admission

TABLE SURPRISE

Table talk with a twist

We’re delighted to offer an exciting dining experience in Baden-Baden, different this time from what you’d expect: you’ll have the opportunity to go out to dinner with like-minded people you haven’t met before – and we’ll provide a surprise guest. It will include a discussion about the program, the music, or the core ideas of the Festspielhaus. We’ll take care of the table and the topic – all you need to do is look forward to a surprise.

4.2.23, 1 pm: Lunch surprise 6.4.23, 8 pm: Dinner surprise 28.5.23, 8 pm: Dinner surprise 8.7.23, 8 pm: Dinner surprise 30.9.23, 1:30 pm: Lunch surprise 25.11.23, 1 pm: Lunch surprise

SPEED DATES FOR THE MIND

Anniversary lectures

These keynote lectures are the icing on the birthday cake. We invite people who have very special food for thought to offer in our time. You can experience them prior to an event in the Festspielhaus or impromptu.

25 Jahre Festspielhaus Baden-Baden

Neues Miteinander

Als das Festspielhaus Baden-Baden 1998 eröffnet wurde, ahnte niemand, wie wertvoll das Miteinander im Zeichen der Musik einmal werden würde. Die Pandemie hat es uns besser gelehrt. Daher feiern wir 2023 nicht nur einen Jahrestag und veranstalten internationale Festivals, sondern nehmen uns auch immer wieder Zeit, um mit Ihnen nach vorn zu schauen. Feiern Sie auch abseits der Bühnenprogramme mit uns und vielen anderen Musikbegeisterten.

ALLES AUF ZUKUNFT

Talks und Miteinander beim Takeover Festival

Keynotes und Bluenotes: kurze Statements zur Zukunft von Musik und Gesellschaft. Feedback ist erwünscht beim Takeover Festival vom 3. bis 5.2.23!

UNGLAUBLICH: DAS TOCCARION WIRD ZEHN

Ein ganz wichtiger Geburtstag mitten im Jubiläumsjahr: Die unglaubliche Kindermusikwelt TOCCARION wird zehn Jahre alt. Die Kindermusikwelt der Sigmund Kiener Stiftung bietet ein singendes, klingendes Festprogramm vom 12. bis 14.5.23.

OSTERIMPULSE

Referate und Salons mit den Berliner Philharmonikern und Gästen

Wir nutzen im Rahmen der Osterfestspiele mit den Berliner Philharmonikern die schönsten Räume der Stadt, um uns durch Vorträge und Lesungen inspirieren zu lassen. 2023 feiern wir auch den zehnten Geburtstag der Osterfestspiele. Seien Sie dabei!

Termine: Freitag, 7.4.23, 14 Uhr Samstag, 8.4.23, 14 Uhr

MUSIK MACHT JUNG

Schülerinnen und Schüler bewegen sich musizierend zur gleichen Zeit wie Megastars und vielversprechende Profi-Newcomer im Festspielhaus. Dieses Wochenende ist ein wahrer Jungbrunnen: mit Mutter’s Virtuosi, dem Aris Quartett und Vanessa Porter.

16. bis 18.6.23

WELTERBE-VIBES

Durch Baden-Baden wandeln: Schon der Wortklang lässt Bilder entstehen. Mit Musikerinnen und Musikern des SWR Symphonieorchesters werden solche Träume wahr. Zu den Pfingstfestspielen im Juni 2023 finden zwei Wandelkonzerte an fünf verschiedenen Orten der Innenstadt statt.

23.5. und 3.6.23

IN DER NEUEN WELT

Galakonzert zum Jubiläum am 1. Juli 2023

Roter Teppich, große Robe und viele Freunde. So feiern wir in der Gala am Samstag, 1. Juli 2023 das Festspielhaus-Jubiläum. Das Orchester der Metropolitan Opera New York spielt unter der Leitung seines Chefdirigenten Yannick Nézet-Séguin. Solistin ist die amerikanische Sopranistin Joyce DiDonato.

HALLO, NACHBARN!

Ein Festtag des Miteinanders

Rund um das Festspielhaus geht es um alles, was uns verbindet: neue Ideen, unser kulturelles Erbe und natürlich auch um das, was uns schmeckt. Wir feiern im Alten Bahnhof einen neuen Geist, der auf Dialog und Gemeinschaft setzt. Lassen Sie sich überraschen.

Juli 2023

SINGENDES EUROPA

Mitmach-Chorprojekt

Europa spricht eine Sprache gemeinsam: die Sprache der Musik. Wir stören uns nicht an grenzüberschreitenden Dissonanzen, sondern singen drauflos. Mit den wunderbaren Sängerinnen und Sängern des Balthasar-Neumann-Chores.

Abschlusskonzert: 26.11.23

FREUNDSCHAFT TANZEN

Rahmenprogramm zum Tanzfestival „The World of John Neumeier“

Wir bringen Schwung ins Kurstädtchen, das wieder Tanzmetropole wird. Vom Downtown-Flashmob bis zum tanzenden Kindergarten auf den Höhen feiert Baden-Baden mit seinen Gästen die Freundschaft mit John Neumeier, dem Hamburg Ballett und vielen weiteren Tänzerinnen und Tänzern.

29.9. bis 10.10.23

RAUMSCHIFF FESTSPIELHAUS

Weltpremiere mit Hologramm-Ballett

Welche Chancen bietet die Technik für Kulturgenuss in der Zukunft? Diese zumindest macht einen schon beim Lesen neugierig: Es finden zeitgleich zwei Aufführungen in zwei verschiedenen Ländern statt. Das Publikum des Festspielhauses sieht auf der Bühne live die Musikerinnen und Musiker des Stuttgarter Kammerorchesters und den Elektro-Künstler Sven Helbig, ergänzt durch die Hologramme der Tänzerinnen und Tänzer des Tschechischen Nationalballetts auf der Bühne der Nationaloper in Prag, die ebendort ihren Auftritt haben.

1.12.23

MAGIE DER MUSIK

Ein klingender Tag für die ganze Familie

Ihre Konzerte heißen „Hygge“ oder „Disco“ und dabei sind sie ein ganz normales klassisches Orchester. Obwohl… Aber erleben Sie es selbst, das „Orchester im Treppenhaus“ und weitere Magierinnen und Magier der Musik. Wir öffnen die Türen zu diesem adventlichen Familientag voller Klänge und Überraschungen im ganzen Festspielhaus.

10.12.23, Eintritt frei

TABLE SURPRISE

Das etwas andere Tischgespräch

Einen anregenden Restaurantbesuch in Baden-Baden versprechen wir zu gern – wenn auch anders, als Sie erwarten würden: Gehen Sie mit unbekannten Gleichgesinnten essen – und wir steuern einen Überraschungsgast bei. Gesprochen wird über ein Thema rund um das Programm, die Musik oder die Grundideen des Festspielhauses. Für Tisch und Thema sorgen wir – Sie lassen sich überraschen.

4.2.23, 13 Uhr: Lunch surprise 6.4.23, 20 Uhr: Dinner surprise 28.5.23, 20 Uhr: Dinner surprise 8.7.23, 20 Uhr: Dinner surprise 30.9.23, 13.30 Uhr: Lunch surprise 25.11.23, 13 Uhr: Lunch surprise

DENK-SPEED-DATES

Jubiläumsvorträge

Diese Impulsvorträge sind der Zuckerguss auf der Geburtstagstorte. Wir laden Menschen ein, die in unserer Zeit ganz besondere Denkanstöße geben können. Sie erleben sie vor einer Veranstaltung im Festspielhaus oder auch einfach mal zwischendurch.

Feiern Sie mit!

Entdecken Sie unsere Ticketangebote im Jubiläumsjahr 2023

MEHR ERFAHREN

Unsere Festivals im Jubiläumsjahr 2023 mögen uns allen Freude, Erkenntnis und Gemeinschaft bereiten. Sie mögen uns dem friedlichen Miteinander wieder ein Stück näherbringen, denn immer war es das Miteinander, das Großes ermöglichte – auch die Gründung dieses Festspielhauses. Seine Zukunft ist unser aller Antrieb.

Benedikt Stampa, Intendant