Julia Fischer and Antonio Pappano

Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia

Description Program Artists

An “aha!” experience right from the start: yes, the Tristan chord is in fact still spooking about. In other respects, too, Schoenberg's early Chamber Symphony is an easily listenable, forward-moving piece that made music history and nicely encapsulates the vibrant optimism of the Wilhelmine Era. The dance of this epoch was the march – which gives us a direct bridge both to Mozart's last violin concerto and the Haffner Symphony. Marches can be heard here as well: except that in the Concerto, the solo violin prefers not to march, but to sing – resulting in an erotic conflict that makes this music so attractive.

Photo that shows Julia Fischer 2018 C Uwe Arens 4224. © Uwe Arens
© Uwe Arens


Arnold Schoenberg
Chamber Symphony No. 1 in E major, op. 9 for 15 solo instruments

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (17561791)
Violin Concerto
Symphony in D major, K. 385 (“Haffner”)

The event will take place as announced - albeit due to Corona travel regulations with a different line-up and program and without a break from the concert.

Please note: The hall plan of the Festspielhaus Baden-Baden has changed due to the currently valid hygiene and spacing regulations. In autumn we will initially be able to use about 500 of the otherwise over 2000 seats. Our Service Center Ticketing will contact you if necessary and will select the most beautiful seats for you. If we have to offer you a lower seat category, we will refund the difference.

If you have not provided us with your contact details, please contact us about your seats yourself - by e-mail at info@festspielhaus.de or by phone at 07221 / 30 13 101.

Performance ends at approx.: {{ selectedDate.end.time }} Uhr
Sponsor: {{ sponsor }}
Presented by: {{ presenter }}
In cooperation with: {{ cooperation }}
In collaboration with: {{ collaboration }}