Sol Gabetta and Jakub Hrůša

Elgars Concerto for Cello and Bruckners Symphony No.4 with Bamberger Symphoniker

Description Program Artists

The term “Überwältigungsästhetik” (aesthetic of overwhelming) refers to art before and after 1900 that sought to take the viewer’s breath away, to sweep over him or her like the waves of an ocean. Bruckner’s powerful symphonies mark the appearance of this aesthetic in music; Elgar’s late Cello Concerto is one of its high points while at the same time representing its ending, a gradual withdrawing into the intimate sphere. It was for works like these that enormous concert halls like the Festspielhaus were designed in the first place. And since grandeur always goes hand in hand with personal charisma, for today’s concert we have invited the finest artists in their fields: Sol Gabetta, star cellist and long-time friend of the Festspielhaus, and the members of the Bamberger Symphoniker under their chief conductor Jakub Hrůša.

Photo that shows Sol Gabetta 2017 4083 2018B ┬® Julia Wesely. © Julia Wesely
© Julia Wesely


Edward Elgar
Concerto for Cello and Orchestra, op. 85


Anton Bruckner
Symphony No. 4 (“Romantic”)

Performance ends at approx.: {{ selectedDate.end.time }} Uhr
Sponsor: {{ sponsor }}
Presented by: {{ presenter }}
In cooperation with: {{ cooperation }}
In collaboration with: {{ collaboration }}