Sir Simon Rattle II: L. van Beethoven: Symphony No. 9

Embrace the world from Vienna

Description Program Artists

Like yesterday, Sir Simon Rattle and the London Symphony Orchestra are once again confronting the music of Berg with that of Beethoven. Berg’s Lulu Suite brings together music from the opera to create a symphony with solo soprano. It forms a counterpoint to Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony, in which Beethoven strives to embrace the whole world. Despite the many contrasts between the two composers, the wealth of detail in Berg’s music derives directly from Beethoven and forms a bridge between them. And another significant commonality (alluded to by Berg’s use of popular tunes): the great old city of Vienna with its rich musical tradition.

Photo that shows De11A5D2 Rattle Sir Simon C Thomas Rabsch. © Thomas Rabsch
© Thomas Rabsch


Alban Berg
Lulu Suite – Symphonic Pieces from the Opera Lulu


Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No. 9 in D minor, op. 125

In German with German and English supertitles.

Performance ends at approx.: {{ selectedDate.end.time }} Uhr
Sponsor: {{ sponsor }}
Presented by: {{ presenter }}
In cooperation with: {{ cooperation }}
In collaboration with: {{ collaboration }}