Paavo Järvi

Prokofiev´s Symphony No. 6 and Beethoven´s Piano Concerto No. 5 with Lars Vog

Description Program Artists

All events for the second half of the 2020–2021 season are still planned, but cannot currently be booked. Advance ticket sales have been interrupted. The current experience with the coronavirus pandemic has shown us that in the event of strong demand (above the currently permitted 500 guests), advance sales can only be expanded once the official approval has been given to open the hall accordingly. We will continue to publish or confirm the final program six weeks before the scheduled event.

Paavo Järvi is the scion of a great Estonian conducting dynasty to which his brother Kristjan and father Neeme also belong. Among them, Paavo is known as the great perfectionist and educator of orchestras. From his father he also acquired the curiosity that incites him to seek out the lesser-known masterpieces. Placing Prokofiev’s rarely-performed Sixth Symphony on the program with the Berliner Philharmoniker can thus be seen as a statement. This musical confession combines the power of Beethoven with Russian lyricism.

Photo that shows Paavo Järvi F Kk 02638 C Kaupo Kikkas. © Kaupo Kikkas
© Kaupo Kikkas


Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat major, op. 73

Sergei Prokofiev
Symphony No. 6 in E-flat minor, op. 111

Performance ends at approx.: {{ selectedDate.end.time }} Uhr
Sponsor: {{ sponsor }}
Presented by: {{ presenter }}
In cooperation with: {{ cooperation }}
In collaboration with: {{ collaboration }}