Janine Jansen & London Symphony Orchestra

Masterworks by Jean Sibelius. Maestro Michael Tilson Thomas bows before the Finnish genius.

Photo that shows Mtt By Vahan Stepanyan. © Vahan Stepanyan
© Vahan Stepanyan
Program Artists

Nordic Splendor: an evening devoted to Finnish late Romanticist Jean Sibelius, with his popular Violin Concerto and last two symphonies: the pastoral Sixth and the tremendous Seventh, though here “tremendous” applies only to its effect on us as listeners: the overwhelming work reminiscent of Bruckner is barely over 20 minutes long

The young and award-winning violinist Ray Chen will be taking on the solo part for Janine Jansen, who had to cancel with great regret her appearance for health reasons.

Performance ends at approx.: {{ selectedDate.end.time }} Uhr
Sponsor: {{ sponsor }}
Presented by: {{ presenter }}
In cooperation with: {{ cooperation }}
In collaboration with: {{ collaboration }}


Jean Sibelius
Violin Concerto in D minor, op. 47
Symphony No. 6 in D minor, op. 104
Symphony No. 7 in C major, op. 105


Artists {{ artist.givenName }} {{ artist.surname }}

{{ artist.role }}