Daniil Trifonov

Piano music by Johann Sebastian Bach

Description Program Artists

What is the difference between humans and animals? The use of reason, the Enlightenment tells us. In Bach's Art of Fugue, an entire world is developed out of a short sequence of notes. It is not the note sequence itself that is decisive, but rather the techniques that lead it to the greatest of heights. From that period onward, it was neither a person’s rank, money, status, or reputation that played the main role, but only the way in which he used reason to rise beyond himself. With death a natural limit is set to this growth, which is why the unfinished Art of Fugue is traditionally concluded with the chorale prelude “Vor Deinen Thron tret ich hiermit” (“Herewith I come before Thy Throne”). Daniil Trifonov, one of the leading pianists of our day, has added another brief epilogue to the monumental work: Bach's beautiful and comforting chorale “Jesu bleibet meine Freude” (“Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring”).

Photo that shows Trifonov 2020 C Dario Acosta9.


Johann Sebastian Bach
Chaconne from the Partita in D minor for Solo Violin, BWV 1004,
transcribed for piano left hand by Johannes Brahms

The Art of Fugue, BWV 1080

Jesus bleibet meine Freude Chorale from the Cantata

“Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben,”
transcribed for piano by Myra Hess

Performance ends at approx.: {{ selectedDate.end.time }} Uhr
Sponsor: {{ sponsor }}
Presented by: {{ presenter }}
In cooperation with: {{ cooperation }}
In collaboration with: {{ collaboration }}