Brahms Cycle I

Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Conductor and Yuja Wang, Piano

Description Program Artists

It’s well worthwhile taking a stroll through the foyer of the Festspielhaus Baden-Baden with open eyes. The magnificent architecture of the former railway station invokes the styles of past epochs, incorporating influences of the Renaissance, Classicism, and the Baroque period. The same is true of Brahms’s Second Piano Concerto, an important masterpiece of historicism, a style beloved during the second half of the nineteenth century in music as well. Though the piano part is fiendishly difficult to play, this hardly matters to Yuja Wang: at the point where others would give up, this pianist seems just to be getting her fingers warm.

Photo that shows Yuja Wang 7501 Ôêå Julia Wesely. © Julia Wesely
© Julia Wesely


Johannes Brahms
Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-flat major, op. 83

Symphony No. 1 in C minor, op. 68

Performance ends at approx.: {{ selectedDate.end.time }} Uhr
Sponsor: {{ sponsor }}
Presented by: {{ presenter }}
In cooperation with: {{ cooperation }}
In collaboration with: {{ collaboration }}