Luxuriant sounds from Chicago

Riccardo Muti and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra come to Baden-Baden

The elite American orchestra, heard on countless recordings under celebrated conductors and admired by experts for its balanced brass sound: the Chicago Symphony Orchestra will be paying a visit to the Festival Hall Baden-Baden on Wednesday, January 25, 2017 at 7:00 P.M. Principal Conductor Riccardo Muti will be leading the concert – as he did in 1998 when the orchestra visited for the first time – conducting works by Hindemith, Elgar, and Mussorgsky, including the famous Pictures at an Exhibition.

Muti has little patience for such extravagances as extreme rubato, artificial dynamic fluctuations, and provocatively slow tempos. After all, the Italian maestro is known for his faithfulness to the score and is regarded as an uncompromising perfectionist who is passionate about focusing on the essential: giving a true and faithful account of the music. “I always use the authentic version of the score,” he says. Muti, more than any other conductor of his generation, represents an Italian conducting tradition that hearkens back directly to Arturo Toscanini – in fact, together with the composer Bruno Bettinelli, his principal teachers at the Milan Conservatory were Toscanini pupils Antonio Votto and Guido Cantelli. “Many of my colleagues talk about how happy they are simply being there on the conductor’s podium. I am happy when the musicians and I succeed in serving the composer and conveying something to our listeners. It’s a question of honesty.”

Muti studied piano, composition, and conducting in his home city of Naples as well as in Milan. His international career began after winning the celebrated Guido Cantelli Competition in 1967, and he was appointed artistic director of Maggio Musicale Fiorentino the following year. Then one success quickly followed upon another: he was invited to the Salzburg Festival by Herbert von Karajan in 1971, made his debut with the Philadelphia Orchestra in 1972, was named successor to Otto Klemperer at London’s Philharmonia Orchestra, and served as music director of the Teatro alla Scala for many years.

At the Festival Hall Baden-Baden, Muti and “his” orchestra will be presenting a program that includes Paul Hindemith’s Konzertmusik for Brass and String Orchestra, Op. 50 (“Sinfonia concertante”), followed by the concert overture In the South by Edward Elgar. Elgar wrote the work in the Italian town of Alassio – an atmospheric new discovery that highlights Muti’s commitment to performing little-known works of the repertoire. We will then be immersed in the world of Nikolai Gogol’s tale, brimming with devils and demons, in Modest Mussorgsky’s tone poem Night on Bald Mountain, which was inspired by Gogol’s St. John’s Eve. The main work on the evening’s program will be Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition which, thanks to Maurice Ravel’s orchestration, grew to be the most popular work of Russian instrumental music.

Picture: Todd Rosenberg Photography

Director Riccardo Muti Orchestra Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Wednesday 25 Jan 2017 19:00 H

Riccardo Muti & Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Friends of the Festival Hall concert

When the queen reviews the troops, she does so to Edward Elgar’s music, whose marches wonderfully reflect the pride and ...

Luxusklang aus Chicago

Riccardo Muti kommt mit dem Chicago Symphony Orchestra nach Baden-Baden

Das amerikanische Spitzenorchester, auf zahllosen Aufnahmen unter berühmten Dirigenten zu hören und in Fachkreisen vor allem für seinen ausgewogenen Blechbläserklang bekannt: Das Chicago Symphony Orchestra ist am Mittwoch, 25. Januar 2017 im Festspielhaus Baden-Baden zu Gast. Chefdirigent Riccardo Muti steht – wie 1998 beim ersten Besuch des Orchesters – am Pult und wird Werke von Hindemith, Elgar und Mussorgsky dirigieren – darunter die bekannten „Bilder einer Ausstellung“.

Für Extravaganzen wie extreme Rubati, künstlich aufgetragene Dynamik-Schwankungen oder aufreizend langsame Tempi hat Riccardo Muti nichts übrig. Schließlich ist der italienische Maestro für seine Werktreue bekannt und gilt zudem als kompromissloser Perfektionist, der sich leidenschaftlich auf das Wesentliche beschränkt: die Musik in adäquater, werkgetreuer Wiedergabe. „Ich verwende immer die authentische Version einer Partitur“, sagt er. Muti repräsentiert wie kein anderer Dirigent seiner Generation eine italienische Dirigier-Tradition, die sich direkt auf Arturo Toscanini berufen kann – schließlich waren seine wichtigsten Lehrer am Mailänder Konservatorium neben dem Komponisten Bruno Bettinelli die Toscanini-Schüler Antonio Votto und Guido Cantelli. „Es gibt viele Kollegen, die sagen, wie glücklich sie sind, schon allein wenn sie auf dem Podium stehen. Ich aber bin glücklich, wenn es den Musikern und mir gelingt, dem Komponisten zu dienen und den Zuhörern etwas zu vermitteln. Das ist eine Frage der Ehrlichkeit.“

Muti studierte Klavier, Komposition und Dirigieren in seiner Heimatstadt Neapel sowie in Mailand. Seine internationale Karriere begann, als er 1967 den renommierten Guido-Cantelli-Wettbewerb gewann und man ihn ein Jahr später zum künstlerischen Leiter des Maggio Musicale Fiorentino ernannte. Dann ging es Schlag auf Schlag: 1971 wurde er von Herbert von Karajan zu den Salzburger Festspielen eingeladen, 1972 debütierte er beim Philadelphia Orchestra, übernahm als Nachfolger von Otto Klemperer das Philharmonia Orchestra in London und war viele Jahre Musikdirektor des Teatro alla Scala.

Auf dem Programm im Festspielhaus Baden-Baden wird Muti mit „seinem“ Orchester Paul Hindemiths Konzertmusik op. 50 „Sinfonia concertante“ für Blechbläserensemble und Streichorchester interpretieren. Anschließend erklingt die Konzertouvertüre „Im Süden“ von Edward Elgar. Diese schrieb der Komponist im italienischen Alassio – eine stimmungsvolle Neuentdeckung, mit der sich Riccardo Muti einmal mehr auch für die Randbereiche des Repertoires einsetzt. In die Welt der von Teufeln und Dämonen bevölkerten Erzählungen Nikolai Gogols führt dann Modest Mussorgskys Tondichtung „Die Nacht auf dem Kahlen Berge“, die von Gogols „Johannisnacht“ inspiriert wurde. Hauptwerk des Abends ist Mussorgskys „Bilder einer Ausstellung, der dank der Orchestrierung von Maurice Ravel zum populärsten Werk der russischen Instrumentalmusik avancierte.

Foto: Todd Rosenberg Photography

 

Director Riccardo Muti Orchestra Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Mittwoch 25 Jan 2017 19:00 H

Riccardo Muti & Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Konzert des Freundeskreis Festspielhaus e. V.

Ja zum Pathos. Wenn die Queen Paraden abnimmt, geschieht das zu Musik Edward Elgars, in dessen Märschen sich Englands Stolz und Größe aufs Wunderbarste ...