Festspielhaus Baden-Baden

2013 Herbert von Karajan Music Prize: Edita Gruberova

Edita Gruberova © pr

Edita Gruberova © pr

We gladly bow down to this legend. Edita Gruberova – her name has long been a fixture in the musical annals thanks to her commitment to the Bel canto, an art of singing which appears to descend celestially and has the ability to move audiences to tears. In actual fact the quality of this artist should soothe us all. In gratitude for her award, the prize winner will present a programme which demonstrates the facets of her artform. Edita Groberova doesn’t merely sing beautifully – she gives herself to her audience, her real presence seems to dissolve into tones. The 2013 Herbert von Karajan Music Prize could not have found a more worthy recipient.


Edita Gruberova Soprano
Werner Ehrhardt Conductor
Alexander Schmalcz Piano
l’arte del mondo Ensemble

Part 1: Lieder by
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Franz Schubert
Antonín Dvořák
Sergei Rachmaninoff

Laudatory speech
Part 2: Arias and instrumental music from operas by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Finishing time approx.: 9.00pm

Prices: € 150,00 / 125,00 / 99,00 / 78,00 / 47,00
Concession: € 142,00 / 118,00 / 91,00 / 71,00 / 43,00